open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
Bug Lists
Follow @gstreamer on Twitter

Release notes for GStreamerĀ 0.7.6 "Almost"

The GStreamer team is happy to announce a new release in the 0.7.x development series of the GStreamer streaming-media framework. The goal of this release series is to stabilize towards a 0.8 release series which will be part of the GNOME 2.6 releases and hopefully eventually KDE 4.x.

0.7.6 is a Release Candidate for GStreamer 0.8.0 It is released to shake out the last bugs that might be still present due to major/minor number differences.

The 0.7 series is a development series and is aimed at developers. It is NOT API or ABI compatible with the stable 0.6.x series or with other releases in the series. This means you can not use this release to upgrade your current GStreamer installation and expect your GStreamer applications to keep working without a recompile. It is, however, parallel installable with the 0.6.x series.

Features of this release

  • uses 0.8 as the major/minor number
  • opt scheduler fixes
  • don't link non-versioned tools to gstreamer
  • bindings-related fixes and additions


You can find source releases of gstreamer in the gstreamer download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gstreamer repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.


Applications are supposed to update their pkg-config checks for GStreamer, and start checking for 0.8 as the major/minor number.

Contributors to this release

  • Christian Schaller
  • Thomas Vander Stichele
  • David Schleef
  • Johan Dahlin
  • Benjamin Otte
  • Christophe Fergeau
  • Andy Wingo
  • Ronald Bultje
  • Jan Schmidt

Report a problem on this page.