open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
@gstreamer on Twitter
@gstreamer on Mastodon
#gstreamer on Matrix

Release notes for GStreamer RTSP Server Library 1.2.3

The GStreamer team is proud to announce the first release of the GStreamer RTSP Server Library for the GStreamer 1.0 API series.

Features of this release

  • Ported to GStreamer 1.0 API
  • Multithreaded for better responsiveness and scaleability
  • Support for authentication and access restrictions
  • Support for TLS
  • API refactored a bit for clarity (e.g. MediaMapping -> MountPoints)
  • Improved seeking support
  • Better live pipeline support
  • Better IPv6 and multicast support
  • Improved portability (ported to gio)
  • Support for automatic synchronous playback of multiple clients via GstNetTimeProvider
  • Support for more range formats
  • New example how to feed data to the server via appsrc
  • New example how to prioritise some clients over others using cgroups
  • Many more unit tests
  • Hundreds of bug-fixes and other improvements

No bugs were fixed in this release


You can find source releases of gst-rtsp-server in the gst-rtsp-server download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-rtsp-server repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.

Contributors to this release

  • Aleix Conchillo Flaqué
  • Alessandro Decina
  • Alexander Schrab
  • Andrey Utkin
  • Branko Subasic
  • David Svensson Fors
  • Edward Hervey
  • George McCollister
  • Göran Jönsson
  • Jonas Holmberg
  • Lubosz Sarnecki
  • Ognyan Tonchev
  • Olivier Crête
  • Patricia Muscalu
  • Patrick Radizi
  • Sebastian Dröge
  • Sebastian Pölsterl
  • Sebastian Rasmussen
  • Stefan Sauer
  • Tim-Philipp Müller
  • Wim Taymans
  • Youness Alaoui

Report a problem on this page.