open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
Bug Lists
Follow @gstreamer on Twitter

Release notes for GStreamer Plug-insĀ 0.8.3 "Water"

The GStreamer team is happy to announce a new release in the 0.8.x stable series of the GStreamer Plug-ins.

The 0.8.x series is a stable series aimed at end users. It is not API or ABI compatible with the stable 0.6.x series. It is, however, parallel installable with the 0.6.x series.

This module contains plugins providing media encoding and decoding, conversion, effects, and other elements that provide actual media handling functionality to the core. You need the GStreamer core module to make them work. The versions do not need to match exactly, as long as all of them are in the 0.8.x series.

The FFmpeg-based decoder element has been moved to its own module. If you want support for a lot of popular video formats, you need to install this module along with the GStreamer Core and Plug-ins. An FFmpeg-based colorspace element has been added to the Plug-ins however.

Features of this release

  • Parallel installability with 0.6.x series
  • Internationalization
  • New translation in this release: Czech
  • New translation in this release: Hungarian
  • Translations: af az cs en_GB hu nl sr sv uk
  • pixel aspect ratio conversion
  • tcpserversink fixes and additions
  • oggdemux fixes
  • theoraenc and theoradec fixes
  • ximagesink and xvimagesink fixes
  • ladspa fixes
  • videoscale and ffmpegcolorspace fixes for stride
  • mpeg and dvd fixes
  • win32 project file additions
  • new elements: playbin and decodebin
  • new element: multifdsink
  • new element: pngdec
  • new element: alpha
  • new element: multifilesink

Bugs fixed in this release

  • 141906 : hang on removing ximagesink from a pipeline
  • 142432 : Wrong sink MIME type in shout2send
  • 143222 : [oggdemux] Optimize tag reading
  • 143548 : Please update libtool to fix build on arm
  • 143703 : duration always 0 for some (gst produced) .ogg files
  • 144624 : wavenc doesn't close file properly
  • 144753 : libgstinterfaces should be split, or: 'volume' should not...
  • 144815 : [alsasink] gst_element_set_time_delay() assertion failure...
  • 144866 : [flac] seeking broken, duration not set on buffers [PATCH]
  • 144941 : alsasink assertion failure on ctrl+z and fg
  • 145031 : totem CVS won't compile because of gst-play ...
  • 145088 : gnome-volume-control has unlocalized volume names.
  • 145118 : Compile error (gcc 2.95, alsa)
  • 145336 : pipeline broke-stonecold
  • 147969 : LADSPA plugin should sanitize the info from the .so's to ...
  • 148021 : Bug in lib-riff
  • 148023 : [ximagesink] doesn't work with Xnest
  • 148043 : audioconvert
  • 148289 : mad plugin crashes on Sun
  • 148505 : [level] for silence peak is reported wrongly
  • 148986 : [lame] bug in negotiation


You can find source releases of gst-plugins in the gst-plugins download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-plugins repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.


The GConf settings have moved to a versioned location and can now be found under /system/gstreamer/0.8. Applications should use the gconf library, as provided by gstreamer-gconf-0.8.pc, to access the default settings.

Contributors to this release

  • Andy Wingo
  • Benjamin Otte
  • Colin Walters
  • David I. Lehn
  • David Schleef
  • Iain Holmes
  • Jan Schmidt
  • Johan Dahlin
  • Julien Moutte
  • Laszlo Dvornik
  • Miloslave Trmac
  • Ronald Bultje
  • Sebastien Cote
  • Steve Lhomme
  • Thomas Vander Stichele
  • Wim Taymans
  • Zaheer Abbas Merali

Report a problem on this page.