open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
@gstreamer on Twitter
@gstreamer on Mastodon
#gstreamer on Matrix

Release notes for GStreamer Ugly Plug-ins 0.10.12 "Moving Along The Highway"

The GStreamer team is proud to announce a new release in the 0.10.x stable series of the GStreamer Ugly Plug-ins.

The 0.10.x series is a stable series targeted at end users. It is not API or ABI compatible with the stable 0.8.x series. It is, however, parallel installable with the 0.8.x series.

"When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk."

There are times when the world needs a color between black and white. Quality code to match the good's, but two-timing, backstabbing and ready to sell your freedom down the river. These plug-ins might have a patent noose around their neck, or a lock-up license, or any other problem that makes you think twice about shipping them.

We don't call them ugly because we like them less. Does a mother love her son less because he's not as pretty as the other ones ? No - she commends him on his great personality. These plug-ins are the life of the party. And we'll still step in and set them straight if you report any unacceptable behaviour - because there are two kinds of people in the world, my friend: those with a rope around their neck and the people who do the cutting.

This module contains a set of plug-ins that have good quality and correct functionality, but distributing them might pose problems. The license on either the plug-ins or the supporting libraries might not be how we'd like. The code might be widely known to present patent problems. Distributors should check if they want/can ship these plug-ins.

Other modules containing plug-ins are:

contains a basic set of well-supported plug-ins
contains a set of well-supported plug-ins under our preferred license
contains a set of less supported plug-ins that haven't passed the rigorous quality testing we expect

Features of this release

  • Real and WMS RTSP improvements
  • Other cleanups and bug fixes
  • Improve ASF file handling
  • Large MPEG video file support
  • Interlacing support for MPEG video
  • New 'lamemp3dec' mp3 encoder element
  • x264enc moved from -bad
  • Remove id3mux in favour of the new id3tag element in -bad

Bugs fixed in this release

  • 401173 : [asfdemux] Stream doesn't play, stuck on first frame
  • 494528 : Simplifications of the LAME plugin
  • 574461 : [mpeg2dec] Lower rank and make ffdec_mpeg2video PRIMARY
  • 576305 : twolame plugin does not detet proper version
  • 579058 : [asfdemux] proper handling of RTSP input
  • 580803 : [PLUGIN-MOVE] Move x264enc to -ugly
  • 580869 : dvdsubdec ARGB support
  • 581341 : [lamemp3enc] doesn't build with LAME 3.97: implicit decla...
  • 581756 : [id3mux] replace with something more reliable
  • 582056 : [asfdemux] forcing an EOS on the pipeline doesn't work wi...
  • 582375 : mpeg2dec not building in gst-plugins-ugly
  • 583112 : [asfdemux] extract coverart (WM/Picture tag)
  • 573720 : [mp3parse] Memory leak when playing shoutcast streams
  • 581464 : xing data is being ignored
  • 578524 : synaesthesia MSVC compatibility


You can find source releases of gst-plugins-ugly in the gst-plugins-ugly download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-plugins-ugly repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.


Contributors to this release

  • Alessandro Decina
  • Christian Schaller
  • David Hoyt
  • David Schleef
  • Edward Hervey
  • Felipe Contreras
  • Jan Schmidt
  • Janin Kolenc
  • Josef Zlomek
  • Josep Torra
  • Kapil Agrawal
  • Marc-Andre Lureau
  • Mark Nauwelaerts
  • Michael Smith
  • Michal Benes
  • Sebastian Dröge
  • Stefan Kost
  • Tim-Philipp Müller
  • Wim Taymans

Report a problem on this page.