open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
Bug Lists
Follow @gstreamer on Twitter

Release notes for GStreamer Good Plugins 1.6.4

The GStreamer team is pleased to announce a new bug-fix release in the old 1.6 stable series of the core of the GStreamer streaming media framework.

This release only contains bugfixes and it should be safe to update from 1.6.x. For a full list of bugfixes see Bugzilla.

This release maintains API/ABI backwards compatibility with the GStreamer 1.0, 1.2, 1.4 and 1.6 release series.

"Such ingratitude. After all the times I've saved your life."

A collection of plugins you'd want to have right next to you on the battlefield. Shooting sharp and making no mistakes, these plugins have it all: good looks, good code, and good licensing. Documented and dressed up in tests. If you're looking for a role model to base your own plugin on, here it is.

If you find a plot hole or a badly lip-synced line of code in them, let us know - it is a matter of honour for us to ensure Blondie doesn't look like he's been walking 100 miles through the desert without water.

This module contains a set of plugins that we consider to have good quality code, correct functionality, our preferred license (LGPL for the plugin code, LGPL or LGPL-compatible for the supporting library). We believe distributors can safely ship these plugins. People writing elements should base their code on these elements.

Other modules containing plugins are:

contains a basic set of well-supported plugins
contains a set of well-supported plugins, but might pose problems for distributors
contains a set of less supported plugins that haven't passed the rigorous quality testing we expect, or are still missing documentation and/or unit tests
contains a set of codecs plugins based on libav (formerly gst-ffmpeg)

Bugs fixed in this release

  • 755106 : directsoundsink: mute property doesn't work
  • 756897 : qtdemux: cenc aux_info_type endianness issue
  • 757569 : rtspsrc: avoid potentially overflowing expression
  • 761345 : rtpjpegpay: Allow different quantization tables for components 2 and 3
  • 761637 : qtmux: handle file with wrong color_table_id values
  • 761670 : jpegdec: Possible endless loop if file is corrupt
  • 762117 : avidemux: Fix string memory leak
  • 762208 : rtpmanager: Don't warn for duplicate/reordered packets
  • 762209 : flvdemux: leaking eos event fix
  • 762210 : flvmux: plug leak(s) in error-scenario
  • 762420 : avidemux: Fix buffer memory leak
  • 762434 : multifilesink: close file on write error with next-file mode is set to buffer
  • 762516 : qtdemux: cenc auxiliary info parsing crashes
  • 762542 : matroskademux: CRITICAL when seeking on matroska files without buffers
  • 762660 : flacparse: Pushing buffers before tags
  • 762793 : rgvolume: modifies upstream tags in place without making them writable first
  • 762893 : splitmuxsink critical assertion when changing from null to ready
  • 763093 : udpsrc: Fix multicast group joining with provided sockets on Windows
  • 764933 : rtpmux: if the sink pads receive GstBufferLists instead of GstBuffers, sticky events are not forwarded correctly to the src pads.


You can find source releases of gst-plugins-good in the gst-plugins-good download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-plugins-good repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.

Contributors to this release

  • Alban Bedel
  • Aurélien Zanelli
  • Dave Craig
  • Havard Graff
  • Jihae Yi
  • Josep Torra
  • Linus Svensson
  • Luis de Bethencourt
  • Matej Knopp
  • Nicolas Dufresne
  • Nirbheek Chauhan
  • Paolo Pettinato
  • Philippe Normand
  • Sebastian Dröge
  • Stian Selnes
  • Thiago Santos
  • Thomas Roos
  • Tim-Philipp Müller
  • Vineeth TM
  • Wim Taymans

Report a problem on this page.