open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
@gstreamer on Twitter
@gstreamer on Mastodon
#gstreamer on Matrix

Release notes for GStreamer Base Plugins 1.5.2

The GStreamer team is pleased to announce the second release of the unstable 1.5 release series. The 1.5 release series is adding new features on top of the 1.0, 1.2 and 1.4 series and is part of the API and ABI-stable 1.x release series of the GStreamer multimedia framework. The unstable 1.5 release series will lead to the stable 1.6 release series in the next weeks, and newly added API can still change until that point.

Binaries for Android, iOS, Mac OS X and Windows will be provided separately during the unstable 1.5 release series.

This module contains a set of reference plugins, base classes for other plugins, and helper libraries. It also includes essential elements such as audio and video format converters, and higher-level components like playbin, decodebin, encodebin, and discoverer. This module is kept up-to-date together with the core developments. Element writers should look at the elements in this module as a reference for their development. This module contains elements for, among others:

  • device plugins: x(v)imagesink, alsa, v4lsrc, cdparanoia
  • containers: ogg
  • codecs: vorbis, theora
  • text: textoverlay, subparse
  • sources: audiotestsrc, videotestsrc, giosrc
  • network: tcp
  • typefind functions
  • audio processing: audioconvert, adder, audiorate, audioresample, volume
  • visualisation: libvisual
  • video processing: videoconvert, videoscale
  • high-level components: playbin, uridecodebin, decodebin, encodebin, discoverer
  • libraries: app, audio, fft, pbutils, riff, rtp, rtsp, sdp, tag, video
Other modules containing plugins are:
contains a set of well-supported plugins under our preferred license
contains a set of well-supported plugins, but might pose problems for distributors
contains a set of less supported plugins that haven't passed the rigorous quality testing we expect, or are still missing documentation and/or unit tests
contains a set of codecs plugins based on libav (formerly gst-ffmpeg)

Bugs fixed in this release

  • 708362 : audiobasesink: new slave-method for custom clock slaving algorithms
  • 748908 : playsink: cannot enable text flag while playing
  • 749039 : x11: X and XV imagesink don't need to cache the pools
  • 749243 : textoverlay: gltestsrc ! textoverlay ! fakesink does not work
  • 749764 : videoscaler: invalid memory access when downscaling in some cases
  • 749823 : basetextoverlay: add properties for toggling drawing text shadow and outline
  • 750013 : playbin: seeking halts playback with gst-play-1.0 gapless
  • 750455 : xvimagesink, ximagesink: set WM_CLASS for the window
  • 750585 : gst-play: sort directory entries
  • 750691 : playsink: fix the channel of color balance element
  • 750785 : playbin: assrender is not used anymore when available
  • 750802 : typefind: UTF-8 MSS manifest parsing support
  • 750823 : discoverer test racy
  • 751000 : oggdemux: crash with validate.http.media_check.vorbis_theora_1_ogg
  • 751118 : playbin: current-suburi does not return correct status when an invalid SUBURI is passed
  • 751144 : audioringbuffer: Fix alaw/mulaw channel positions
  • 751213 : tools: gst-play: fix seeking issue


You can find source releases of gst-plugins-base in the gst-plugins-base download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-plugins-base repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.

Contributors to this release

  • Arun Raghavan
  • Brijesh Singh
  • Carlos Rafael Giani
  • Edward Hervey
  • Guillaume Desmottes
  • Jan Schmidt
  • Lazar Claudiu
  • Luis de Bethencourt
  • Lyon Wang
  • Matej Knopp
  • Nicolas Dufresne
  • Philippe Normand
  • Sebastian Dröge
  • Song Bing
  • Sreerenj Balachandran
  • Stefan Sauer
  • Thibault Saunier
  • Tim-Philipp Müller
  • Vineeth T M
  • Vineeth TM
  • Vivia Nikolaidou
  • Víctor Manuel Jáquez Leal
  • Wim Taymans
  • Xavier Claessens

Report a problem on this page.