open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
@gstreamer on Twitter
@gstreamer on Mastodon
#gstreamer on Matrix

Release notes for GStreamer Base Plugins 1.0.3

The GStreamer team is proud to announce a new bug-fix release in the 1.x stable series of the core of the GStreamer streaming media framework.

The 1.x series is a stable series targeted at end users. It is not API or ABI compatible with the stable 0.10.x series. It is, however, parallel installable with the 0.10.x series and will not affect an existing 0.10.x installation.

This module contains a set of reference plugins, base classes for other plugins, and helper libraries. It also includes essential elements such as audio and video format converters, and higher-level components like playbin, decodebin, encodebin, and discoverer. This module is kept up-to-date together with the core developments. Element writers should look at the elements in this module as a reference for their development. This module contains elements for, among others:

  • device plugins: x(v)imagesink, alsa, v4lsrc, cdparanoia
  • containers: ogg
  • codecs: vorbis, theora
  • text: textoverlay, subparse
  • sources: audiotestsrc, videotestsrc, giosrc
  • network: tcp
  • typefind functions
  • audio processing: audioconvert, adder, audiorate, audioresample, volume
  • visualisation: libvisual
  • video processing: videoconvert, videoscale
  • high-level components: playbin, uridecodebin, decodebin, encodebin, discoverer
  • libraries: app, audio, fft, pbutils, riff, rtp, rtsp, sdp, tag, video
Other modules containing plugins are:
contains a set of well-supported plugins under our preferred license
contains a set of well-supported plugins, but might pose problems for distributors
contains a set of less supported plugins that haven't passed the rigorous quality testing we expect, or are still missing documentation and/or unit tests
contains a set of codecs plugins based on libav (formerly gst-ffmpeg)

Features of this release

  • typefind: detect isml ftyp as iso-fragmented video/quicktime
  • typefinding improvements fixing playback of some wavpack files
  • textoverlay rendering fixes
  • gobject-introspection annotation fixes

Bugs fixed in this release

  • 686276 : rtsp: http tunneling does not work
  • 687030 : ogg: crash checking header of empty ogg packet
  • 687055 : exiftag: fix use after free and memory leak
  • 687057 : vorbistag: fix memory leak
  • 687421 : GstRTSPConnection: a number of methods not annotated correctly
  • 687459 : textoverlay:forward allocation queries instead of discarding
  • 687473 : rtspconnection: remove extra 'return'
  • 687620 : GstRTSPMessage: fix GI annotations
  • 687666 : textoverlay: aborts when shading is enabled but not supported for the current video format
  • 687674 : typefinding: some WavPack files are mis-detected as AAC and fail to play
  • 687991 : videodecoder: add getter for QoS proportion
  • 687994 : rtsp: missing g-i annotation for gst_rtsp_message_set_body
  • 688151 : pbutils missing description for Opus codec
  • 686841 : pango: fix shadow text color

API changes

  • API additions
    • gst_video_decoder_get_qos_proportion()


You can find source releases of gst-plugins-base in the gst-plugins-base download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-plugins-base repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.

Contributors to this release

  • Alessandro Decina
  • Andoni Morales Alastruey
  • Jihyun Cho
  • Jonathan Liu
  • Miguel Angel Cabrera Moya
  • Ognyan Tonchev
  • Rasmus Rohde
  • Sebastian Dröge
  • Sreerenj Balachandran
  • Thiago Santos
  • Tim-Philipp Müller
  • Wim Taymans

Report a problem on this page.