open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
@gstreamer on Twitter
@gstreamer on Mastodon
#gstreamer on Matrix

Release notes for GStreamer Base Plug-ins 0.11.2 "Drool Pool"

The GStreamer team is proud to announce a new release in the 0.11.x unstable series of the GStreamer Base Plug-ins.

The 0.11.x series is an unstable series targeted at developers and will eventually lead up to the stable 1.0 series. It is not API or ABI compatible with the stable 0.10.x series. It is, however, parallel installable with the 0.10.x series.

This module contains a set of reference plugins, base classes for other plugins, and helper libraries. This module is kept up-to-date together with the core developments. Element writers should look at the elements in this module as a reference for their development. This module contains elements for, among others:

  • device plugins: x(v)imagesink, alsa, cdparanoia
  • containers: ogg
  • codecs: vorbis, theora
  • text: textoverlay, subparse
  • sources: audiotestsrc, videotestsrc, giosrc
  • network: tcp
  • typefind functions
  • audio processing: audioconvert, adder, audiorate, audioresample, volume
  • visualisation: libvisual
  • video processing: videoconvert
  • aggregate elements: uridecodebin, playbin, decodebin, encodebin
  • libraries: app, audio, cdda, fft, interfaces, pbutils, riff, rtp, rtsp, sdp, tag, video
Other modules containing plug-ins are:
contains a set of well-supported plug-ins under our preferred license
contains a set of well-supported plug-ins, but might pose problems for distributors
contains a set of less supported plug-ins that haven't passed the rigorous quality testing we expect

Features of this release

  • Parallel installability with 0.10.x series
  • Many API cleanups
  • Ported to new 0.11 core API changes
  • Use new GstSample for snapshots
  • Improved video filter base class
  • New multichannel caps with mask
  • Port network elements to GIO
  • Many fixes and improvements

Bugs fixed in this release

  • 651222 : [0.11] [playbin(2)/uridecodebin] " connection-speed " should be a guint64 instead of a guint
  • 656264 : tag: no-return-in-nonvoid-function compiler warning gstxmptag.c:178
  • 659692 : [0.11] circular dependency between libgstpbutils and libgstaudio
  • 661911 : Audiotestsrc segfaults when trying to changing 'wave' parameter
  • 662607 : printf format mismatch causes compiler warnings
  • 663689 : Missing DiscoverInfo API in 0.11
  • 669328 : [0.11] Remove deprecated theoraenc properties


You can find source releases of gst-plugins-base in the gst-plugins-base download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-plugins-base repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.


Contributors to this release

  • Alessandro Decina
  • Alexey Fisher
  • Andoni Morales Alastruey
  • Andy Wingo
  • Anssi Hannula
  • Benjamin Otte
  • Brian Cameron
  • Christian Fredrik Kalager Schaller
  • Colin Walters
  • Damien Lespiau
  • David Schleef
  • Edward Hervey
  • Felipe Contreras
  • George Kiagiadakis
  • Havard Graff
  • Idar Tollefsen
  • Jan Schmidt
  • Jason DeRose
  • Jonathan Matthew
  • Josep Torra
  • Kipp Cannon
  • Mark Nauwelaerts
  • Mart Raudsepp
  • Matej Knopp
  • Mersad Jelacic
  • Michael Smith
  • Nicolas Dufresne
  • Oleksij Rempel (Alexey Fisher)
  • Olivier Aubert
  • Olivier Crête
  • Pascal Buhler
  • Philip Flarsheim
  • Philip Jägenstedt
  • Philippe Normand
  • Piotr Fusik
  • René Stadler
  • Reynaldo H. Verdejo Pinochet
  • Robert Swain
  • Ryan Lortie
  • Sebastian Dröge
  • Stefan Kost
  • Stefan Sauer
  • Thiago Santos
  • Thibault Saunier
  • Thomas Vander Stichele
  • Tim-Philipp Müller
  • Vincent Penquerc'h
  • Wim Taymans
  • Youness Alaoui
  • Zaheer Abbas Merali

Report a problem on this page.