open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
Bug Lists
Follow @gstreamer on Twitter

Release notes for GStreamer Base Plug-ins 0.10.6 "Chao"

The GStreamer team is proud to announce a new release in the 0.10.x stable series of the GStreamer Base Plug-ins.

The 0.10.x series is a stable series targeted at end users. It is not API or ABI compatible with the stable 0.8.x series. It is, however, parallel installable with the 0.8.x series.

This module contains a set of reference plugins, base classes for other plugins, and helper libraries. This module is kept up-to-date together with the core developments. Element writers should look at the elements in this module as a reference for their development. This module contains elements for, among others:

  • device plugins: x(v)imagesink, alsa, v4lsrc, cdparanoia
  • containers: ogg
  • codecs: vorbis, theora
  • text: textoverlay, subparse
  • sources: audiotestsrc, videotestsrc, gnomevfssrc
  • network: tcp
  • typefind
  • audio processing: audioconvert, adder, audiorate, audioscale, volume
  • visualisation: libvisual
  • video processing: ffmpegcolorspace
  • aggregate elements: decodebin, playbin
Other modules containing plug-ins are:
contains a set of well-supported plug-ins under our preferred license
contains a set of well-supported plug-ins, but might pose problems for distributors
contains a set of less supported plug-ins that haven't passed the rigorous quality testing we expect

Features of this release

  • Parallel installability with 0.8.x series
  • Threadsafe design and API
  • QoS in sinks and transform elements
  • Needs GStreamer 0.10.5 for new GstBaseSink::async_playback() vmethod
  • added theoraparse element

Bugs fixed in this release

  • 313136 : [playbin] hang while playing truncated ogg file
  • 172848 : [subparse] subtitles with special chars are displayed as ...
  • 305279 : [riff] uncompressed AVIs with 24bpp don't work
  • 320765 : [ffmpegcolorspace] make win32+msvc compliant, don't use _...
  • 323852 : Disable tests/icles on platforms that do not have X
  • 325653 : build errors compiling audioresample on win32(vs7)
  • 327357 : gst-plugins-base fails to compile with GCC 4.1
  • 334620 : [gnomevfssrc] fails to connect to icecast streaming servers
  • 334822 : [ffmpegcolorspace] YVU9 support
  • 335028 : [typefinding] ID3 v1 tag is not recognized with mp3-in-wa...
  • 335365 : inefficient use of GList in gst-plugins-base
  • 336190 : [gnomevfssink] should accept non-URI filenames as " location "
  • 336194 : [gnomevfssrc] some minor memory leaks
  • 336477 : plugins need better/univied descriptions
  • 336617 : Unable to recognise MPEG TS stream
  • 337548 : Memory leaks in basertpdepayload
  • 337945 : [oggdemux] segment stop position ignored
  • 338419 : Regression in the handling of files with multiple audio/s...
  • 338897 : Videoscale crashes as part of DVD to Ogg transcoding
  • 339013 : [videorate] Goes into an infinite loop
  • 339047 : [riff] handle H264 fourcc in addition to h264
  • 339212 : ISO file typefinding regression
  • 330748 : deadlock in base audio sink on playing- > paused state change


You can find source releases of gst-plugins-base in the gst-plugins-base download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-plugins-base repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.


Contributors to this release

  • Andy Wingo
  • Antoine Tremblay
  • David Schleef
  • Edward Hervey
  • Fabrizio Gennari
  • Jan Schmidt
  • Julien MOUTTE
  • Michael Smith
  • Michal Benes
  • Sebastien Moutte
  • Stefan Kost
  • Thomas Vander Stichele
  • Tim-Philipp Müller
  • Tommi Myöhänen
  • Wim Taymans
  • j^

Report a problem on this page.