open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
@gstreamer on Twitter
@gstreamer on Mastodon
#gstreamer on Matrix

Release notes for GStreamer Bad Plugins 1.2.2

The GStreamer team is proud to announce a new bug-fix release in the 1.x stable series of the core of the GStreamer streaming media framework.

The 1.x series is a stable series targeted at end users. It is not API or ABI compatible with the stable 0.10.x series. It is, however, parallel installable with the 0.10.x series and will not affect an existing 0.10.x installation.

"That an accusation?"

No perfectly groomed moustache or any amount of fine clothing is going to cover up the truth - these plugins are Bad with a capital B. They look fine on the outside, and might even appear to get the job done, but at the end of the day they're a black sheep. Without a golden-haired angel to watch over them, they'll probably land in an unmarked grave at the final showdown.

Don't bug us about their quality - exercise your Free Software rights, patch up the offender and send us the patch on the fastest steed you can steal from the Confederates. Because you see, in this world, there's two kinds of people, my friend: those with loaded guns and those who dig. You dig.

This module contains a set of plugins that aren't up to par compared to the rest. They might be close to being good quality, but they're missing something - be it a good code review, some documentation, a set of tests, a real live maintainer, or some actual wide use. If the blanks are filled in they might be upgraded to become part of either gst-plugins-good or gst-plugins-ugly, depending on the other factors. If the plugins break, you can't complain - instead, you can fix the problem and send us a patch, or bribe someone into fixing them for you. New contributors can start here for things to work on.

Other modules containing plugins are:

contains a basic set of well-supported plugins
contains a set of well-supported plugins under our preferred license
contains a set of well-supported plugins, but might pose problems for distributors
contains a set of codecs plugins based on libav (formerly gst-ffmpeg)

Bugs fixed in this release

  • 667564 : mpeg4videoparse: does not detect config data when VOP only stream is sent
  • 680700 : decklinksrc: does not forward EOS events passed via send_event
  • 706211 : applemedia: Garbled output from vtenc_h264
  • 709416 : gsmdec: MS GSM playback is broken
  • 710223 : smoothstreaming: strip both /manifest and /Manifest from the manifest uri
  • 711495 : srtpenc: new streams remove any existing streams
  • 711627 : mpegvparse: Incorrect repositioning of start code location when input buffer is empty
  • 712219 : dvdspu: stalled playback
  • 712605 : h264parse: Broken conversion avc/au to byte-stream/nal
  • 715166 : pngparse: Don't set a framerate from uninitialized variables
  • 719657 : gstmpegvideoparser: debug category not always initialized soon enough
  • 720099 : codecparsers: h264: fix picture level scaling lists derivation from fall-back rule set B
  • 720421 : eglglessink: simultaneous eglglessinks not possible in iOS application
  • 720532 : Fix typo in bz2-check
  • 720673 : mpegts: Does not install all headers


You can find source releases of gst-plugins-bad in the gst-plugins-bad download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-plugins-bad repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.

Contributors to this release

  • Aurélien Zanelli
  • Cong Zhong
  • Dominik Röttsches
  • Jan Schmidt
  • Lubosz Sarnecki
  • Mariusz Buras
  • Mark Nauwelaerts
  • Olivier Crête
  • Sebastian Dröge
  • Thiago Santos
  • Thibault Saunier
  • Tim-Philipp Müller
  • Todd Agulnick

Report a problem on this page.