open source multimedia framework
Annual Conference
Planet (Blogs)
Security Center
Mailing Lists
File a Bug
@gstreamer on Twitter
@gstreamer on Mastodon
#gstreamer on Matrix

Release notes for GStreamer Bad Plug-ins 0.10.17 "Anny bobany"

The GStreamer team is proud to announce a new release in the 0.10.x stable series of the GStreamer Bad Plug-ins.

The 0.10.x series is a stable series targeted at end users. It is not API or ABI compatible with the stable 0.8.x series. It is, however, parallel installable with the 0.8.x series.

"That an accusation?"

No perfectly groomed moustache or any amount of fine clothing is going to cover up the truth - these plug-ins are Bad with a capital B. They look fine on the outside, and might even appear to get the job done, but at the end of the day they're a black sheep. Without a golden-haired angel to watch over them, they'll probably land in an unmarked grave at the final showdown.

Don't bug us about their quality - exercise your Free Software rights, patch up the offender and send us the patch on the fastest steed you can steal from the Confederates. Because you see, in this world, there's two kinds of people, my friend: those with loaded guns and those who dig. You dig.

This module contains a set of plug-ins that aren't up to par compared to the rest. They might be close to being good quality, but they're missing something - be it a good code review, some documentation, a set of tests, a real live maintainer, or some actual wide use. If the blanks are filled in they might be upgraded to become part of either gst-plugins-good or gst-plugins-ugly, depending on the other factors. If the plug-ins break, you can't complain - instead, you can fix the problem and send us a patch, or bribe someone into fixing them for you. New contributors can start here for things to work on.

Other modules containing plug-ins are:

contains a basic set of well-supported plug-ins
contains a set of well-supported plug-ins under our preferred license
contains a set of well-supported plug-ins, but might pose problems for distributors

Features of this release

  • Fix DVD playback
  • New elements: DTMF tone source and detector
  • ASS subtitle support improvements
  • Fix compilation on OS/X Snow Leopard
  • Support DVB 3.3 API
  • Inputselector fixes

Bugs fixed in this release

  • 602106 : Bad atom size calculation
  • 574434 : [camerabin] Changing default video/audio source for Windows
  • 584361 : gppmux Support for 3gr6
  • 586929 : [midi] Doesn't handle push
  • 595161 : [mpegtsdemux] Internal dataflow problem with some streams.
  • 598552 : faac: Clean up defaults
  • 598763 : New plugin: aiffmux
  • 598808 : mpegpsmux: Fix CLFAGS typo and reorder flags
  • 599050 : [mpegvideoparse] Does not check width/height range
  • 599469 : resindvd: problems pre-rolling in the absence of audio
  • 600454 : aacparse detecting aac file as mpegversion=2 instead of 4
  • 600461 : [zbar] Over-eager detection of barcodes
  • 600662 : [assrender] Doesn't synchronize subtitle buffers
  • 600707 : autoconvert depends on function from core 0.10.26
  • 600724 : celt: fails to build against celt-0.7
  • 599903 : Scaletempo plugin stops early when playing slowly


You can find source releases of gst-plugins-bad in the gst-plugins-bad download directory.

The git repository and details how to clone it can be found at .


The project's website is

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests.

Please submit patches via bugzilla as well.

For help and support, please subscribe to and send questions to the gstreamer-devel mailing list (see below for details).

Find us on IRC at #gstreamer.


Git is hosted on You can browse the gst-plugins-bad repository.

All code is in Git and can be checked out from there.

Interested developers of the core library, plugins, and applications should subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list.


Contributors to this release

  • Bastian Hecht
  • Chris Hills
  • David Schleef
  • Edward Hervey
  • Gabriel Millaire
  • Jan Schmidt
  • Julien Isorce
  • Michael Smith
  • Olivier Crête
  • René Stadler
  • Robert Swain
  • Sebastian Dröge
  • Stefan Kost
  • Teemu Katajisto
  • Thiago Santos
  • Tim-Philipp Müller
  • Tommi Myöhänen
  • Wim Taymans

Report a problem on this page.